News TOP

News Detail

Mt. Carmel church in QC declared as Minor Basilica

MANILA — The number of minor basilicas in the Philippines has reached 15, with the declaration on Monday of the National Shrine of Our Lady of Mount Carmel as an addition to the list.

The shrine becomes the first church to assume the status of a minor basilica in the Diocese of Cubao.

It was built in 1954, at the same time the Order of Discalced Carmelites was founded in the Archdiocese of Manila.

The Vatican has approved the petition to elevate the Marian shrine to a minor basilica status on November 30 last year.

The other Minor Basilicas in the country are the Minor Basilica of the Immaculate Conception in Batangas City; Minor Basilica of St. Martin of Tours in Taal, Batangas; Basilica Menore del Sto. Niño de Cebu in Cebu City;

Minor Basilica of the Immaculate Conception Manila Metropolitan Cathedral (Manila Cathedral) in Intramuros, Manila; Minor Basilica of Our Lady of Peñafancia in Naga City, Camarines Sur; Minor Basilica of the Black Nazarene St. John the Baptist Parish (Quiapo Chruch) in Manila; Basilica Menore of Our Lady of Charity Parish of Sta. Monica in Agoo, La Union, Ilocos; and Minor Basilica of St. Michael the Archangel in Tayabas, Quezon.

Also included on the list are the Minor Basilica and National Shrine of San Lorenzo Ruiz (Parish of the Our Lady of the Holy Spirit) in Binondo, Manila; Minor Basilica of Nuestra de Piat (Parish of St. Dominic de Guzman) in Piat, Cagayan; Minor Basilica of the Immaculate Conception (Malolos Cathedral) in Malolos, Bulacan; Minor Basiclia of the Our Lady of the Rosary of Manaoag in Manaoag, Pangasinan; Basilica Menore of St. John the Baptist Shrine of La Virgin Milegarlda de Badoc in Badoc, Ilocos Norte; and Minor Basilica of San Sebastián in Quiapo, Manila.

The title is given to churches around the world to denote a particular importance in liturgical and pastoral life and a close bond with the Pope.

Ferdinand Patinio /PNA