News TOP

News Detail

CDO to host PSC-Pacquiao Boxing Cup Mindanao semis

Cagayan de Oro will host the Mindanao semifinals of the on-going nationwide PSC-Pacquiao Amateur Boxing Cup on March 3 with the team Mayor Oscar Moreno bannering the most number of qualifiers.

CDO has eight boxers namely Peter John Payla (44-46 kg.), John Erl Palivino (50 kg.), Kim Bryan Cabrillos (52 kg.) and Dave Bryan Caspe (54 kg.) in the Junior Boys Division and John Ignatius Macas (52 kg.) and John Alvin Gonzales (60 kg.) in the Youth Boys event.

Also seeing action for the City of Golden Friendship are light flyweight Jessa Lycca Caranagan (48 kg.) and bantamweight Shirllyn Gil Napoles (54 kg.) in the Junior Girls division.

The grassroots development program is sponsored by the Philippine Sports Commission under Chairman William “Butch” Ramirez in coordination with Office of Sen. Manny Pacquiao.

General Santos City has six boxers followed by Digos City with five. Sultan Kudarat and Polomolok both have three while Davao City only has two.

The Gensan qualifiers are Gabriel dela Pena (44-46 kg), Rhohan dela Pena (50 kg.) and Kurt Leam Gulle (54 kg.) in the Jr. Boys division and Ariel Almamento (46-49 kg.), RV Denega (56 kg.) and John Benedic Cadavido (60 kg.) in the Youth Boys division.

To compete for Digos are Louie Jay Albino (Youth Boys light flyweight 46-49 kg.), Elmer Catesio (44-46 kg.), Rey John Paul Apale (48 kg.), Almar Rigor (52 kg.), Kim Delmar Macaangga (54 kg.) and Sen. Pacquiao’s cousin Jester Dapidran (50 kg.) in the Jr. Boys division.

“The winners will advance to the Mindanao Finals on April 7 in Davao City,” said supervising technical director Rogelio Fortaleza of the Philippine Sports Institute.

Lito Delos Reyes / PNA