News TOP

News Detail

Laguna PNP is shootfest champ

The Laguna Police Provincial Office (LPPO) bagged the championship title in the team category for the Philippine National Police (PNP) match during the two-day 1st Provincial Director’s Cup shoot fest held Nov. 25-26 at the Laguna Gunner’s Firing Range in Barangay Diezmo, Cabuyao City.

The event has drawn more than 300 shooting enthusiasts from the city and municipal police stations in Laguna, Batangas provincial police office, Philippine Air Force, Philippine National Police Academy (PNPA), Laguna Public Safety Group, Bureau of Jail Management and Penology (BJMP) and RID team.

Gun clubs in Laguna and Lucena City and those outside the Calabarazon region participated in the competition including Olongapo PSA, among others in the seven stages under PPSA level 2 sanctioned match and pistol and mini-rifle matches.

Police Senior Inspector Gerry L. Sangalang, public information office chief, said the Laguna PPO team garnered 1014.93 merit points followed by the Sta. Rosa City Police Station (CPS) team with 574.26 as 1st runner-up; Cabuyao CPS team with 527.28 merit points - 2nd runner-up; LPPSC team - 3rd runner-up; and Biñan CPS team - 4th runner-up.

In the Standard Division, PO2 Salvador Ansay of Luisiana Municipal Police Station (MPS) took the lead with 477.02 merit points; Senior Supt. CecilioIson Jr. with 211.79 merit points - 1st runner-up; and PO3 Michael Claveria of Sta Cruz MPS with 162.17 merit points - 2nd runner-up.

Production Division winners were Police Chief Inspector Marlon C. Cabatana, chief of the Laguna Police Provincial Operations and Plan Branch (POPB) who led with 352.03 merit points as champion; SPO3 Reynante Geronimo of POPB with 266.86 merit points as 1st runner up; Police Supt. Giovanny A. Sibalo, Cabuyao City Chief of Police with 254.95 merit points as the 2nd runner up.

Top Police Commissioned Officer (PCO) went to Police Chief Inspector Marlon C. Cabatana; Police Non-Commissioned Officer (PNCO) to SPO3 Reynante Geronimo; and the Top Lady PNP was SPO3 Anna Lucilla Allado of Kalayaan MPS.

Noriel Tan, Straight Shooters Gun Club president, presented the plaques and awards to all the winners.

The event host, Strait Shooter Gun Club, Inc., said overall match results in the Open Division was won by John G. Aquino with 684.11 merit points; Dan Brillo with 630.80 merit points, second and Albert Bautista with 592.51 merit points, third.

In the Classic Division, Jerwin J Ching with 692.10 merit points led in the competition with Joseph J. Sialana with 674.57 merit points, and Rommel R. Dicdican with 567.13 merit points, respectively.

Rosauro D Dela Rosa Jr. with 643.92 merit points took the lead in the Production Division, followed by FloranteGoyena Jr. with 637.14 merit points, and Luis E Pible with 633.44 merit points.

George A Granado with 693.95 merit points topped the Revolver Division, followed by Erwin L Devoma with 649.78 merit points while for the Standard Division, Michael P. Alcantara took the lead with 686.52 merit points with RumelRosana with 652.64 merit points and Carlos A Almazan with 620.44 merit points, respectively.

Sangalang on Tuesday said that Calabarzon Police Regional Office (PRO4A) Regional Director Chief Supt. Ma. O R. Aplasca had expressed his congratulatory message and said “the activity is not just for gun enthusiasts but most especially for the law enforcers to further hone their skills on marksmanship and proficiency.”

Laguna police provincial director (PD) Senior Supt. Cecilio R. IsonJr, who has initiated the pioneering PD’s Cup also underscored during the awards rites that “this is one of the sports that we as law enforcers need in the exercise of proficiency and confidence in using our guns to avert criminals.”

The shootfest host had Aplasca and Ison as guests to lead the ceremonial shoot for the two-day event.

Saul Pa-a / PNA